My Argument Style

The last real argument I had was quite a while ago.  I had told my parents that I had been wanting to get a tattoo for quite some time, but I wasn’t quite sure what to get.  I had just wanted their opinion, but they decided it was necessary to explain to me why getting a tattoo was a terrible decision.  They felt that tattoos were unsightly, unnecessary things that only existed to prevent me from getting a decent job.  Once I discovered their views on the matter, I set my sights on reassuring them that getting a tattoo was not going to be the end of the world.  I explained how I would get it on my back so it wouldn’t be distracting in the workplace and how I planned on saving up in order to get one of the highest quality.  I also told them what I wanted to get (a line from one of my favorite songs) and how much it meant to me.  In the end, they didn’t completely agree with the idea, but they were much more comfortable with it since I had a concrete plan and wasn’t going in blindly.  My tactic of reassuring them with my plans seemed to do the trick.

This argument was not very typical for me.  In my opinion, it was the first real adult argument I had had with my parents.  With most of my arguments, I typically use logic and facts rather than emotion in order to sway the other party to my side. Over the years, I have learned that patience and respect for another person’s perspective are extremely important when it comes to reaching a conclusion.  Since I have made changes to my argument style while still remaining logic-based, I believe that I have a mixed style of argument.

I believe my life at home growing up heavily influenced my argument style.  I have an older brother and a twin sister, so I believe that fighting was more common around our house than actual arguing.  I have a pretty good memory, so I would use that to my advantage and recall some outrageous detail that occurred months ago that would somehow help me win an argument.  I played tons of sports growing up as well, so that could have fueled my competitive side and made me want to win any and all arguments that I encountered.

Growing up, my parents always told me that I should become a lawyer because I could argue with a tree stump.  I always took that as a compliment when I was younger, but I now realize that that is not the best characteristic to have.  I like how I use logic when arguing because it fits well with my style of thinking, but I would like to become more patient and tolerant of other’s opinions in order to reach an agreement rather than trying to win.

fullsizerender
My twin sister, Emily, and I on Christmas Eve 2016.
One thought on “My Argument Style

Leave a Reply

